For general inquiries, please contact us at 319-335-2119 or research-webmaster@uiowa.edu.

Office of the Vice President for Research & Economic Development
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Daniel Reed Vice President for Research and Economic Development, University Computational Science and Bioinformatics Chair, Professor of Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Medicine 319-335-2132 dan-reed@uiowa.edu
Richard Hichwa Senior Associate Vice President for Research 319-335-2106 richard-hichwa@uiowa.edu
Ann Ricketts Senior Assistant Vice President for Research 319-335-2102 ann-ricketts@uiowa.edu
Jennifer Lassner Senior Assistant Vice President for Research 319-335-3710 jennifer-lassner@uiowa.edu
Heather Gipson Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance 319-335-9546 heather-gipson@uiowa.edu
Stephen Pradarelli Strategic Communications Director 319-384-1282 stephen-pradarelli@uiowa.edu
David Gier Administrative Faculty Fellow and Professor/Director, School of Music 319-335-1601 david-gier@uiowa.edu
Joseph Elder Manager, Financial Analyst 319-384-0725 joseph-elder@uiowa.edu
Wendy Loney HR Professional, Research & Economic Development 319-335-2149 wendy-loney@uiowa.edu
Leslie Weatherhead OVPR&ED Manager of Campus Communications 319-335-2131 leslie-weatherhead@uiowa.edu
Modei Akyea Web Communications Coordinator and Designer 319-384-3537 modei-akyea@uiowa.edu
Marta Gomez Research Support Manager - STEM Initiatives 319-384-1291 marta-gomez@uiowa.edu
Cheryl Ridgeway Research Support Coordinator 319-384-3332 cheryl-a-ridgeway@uiowa.edu
Michael Weaver Assistant to the Vice President for Research 319-335-2453 michael-l-weaver@uiowa.edu
Spencer Kuhl Computational Research Scientist and Application Developer 319-335-5808 spencer-kuhl@uiowa.edu
Nancy Kroeze HR Professional, Research & Economic Development 335-8613 VPR-HR-West@uiowa.edu
Center for Biocatalysis & Bioprocessing
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Mark Arnold Interim Director 319-335-4906 mark-arnold@uiowa.edu
Mitch Rotman Administrator 319-335-4903 mitchell-rotman@uiowa.edu
Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Gregory Carmichael Co-Director 319-335-3332 gregory-carmichael@uiowa.edu
Jerald Schnoor Co-Director 319-335-5649 jerald-schnoor@uiowa.edu
Amy Parker Research Support Coordinator 319-335-3333 amy-parker@uiowa.edu
Center for Health Effects of Environmental Contamination
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Peter Weyer Interim Director 319-335-4550 peter-weyer@uiowa.edu
Central Microscopy Research Facility
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Randy Nessler Director 319-335-8142 randy-nessler@uiowa.edu
Division of Sponsored Programs
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Wendy Beaver Executive Director 319-335-2122 wendy-beaver@uiowa.edu
Environmental Health & Safety Office
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Carol McGhan Director 319-335-8775 carol-mcghan@uiowa.edu
Joe Graves Assistant Director/Radiation Safety Officer 319-335-8517 joe-graves@uiowa.edu
Haley Sinn Biological Safety Officer 319-335-9553 haley-williams@uiowa.edu
Sarah Tallman Business Manager 319-384-1742 sarah-tallman@uiowa.edu
High Resolution Mass Spectrometry Facility
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Lynn Teesch Director 319-335-4902 lynn-teesch@uiowa.edu
High Throughput Screening Facility
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Meng Wu Director 319-335-8828 meng-wu@uiowa.edu
Human Subjects Office / Conflict of Interest in Research Office / IRB
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
John Bertolatus (Andy), MD Primary IRB Chair 319-384-4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Michele Countryman, CIP Director 319-353-4452 michele-countryman@uiowa.edu
Laura Dallas, CIP IRB Administrator/Review Manager 319-335-9844 laura-dallas@uiowa.edu
Elizabeth Jach, MA Interim Assistant Director/ Compliance Manager 319-335-3322 elizabeth-jach@uiowa.edu
Kelly O'Berry Education & Outreach Manager 319-335-8477 kelly-oberry@uiowa.edu
Martha Hedberg, MPA HSO Operations Manager/Conflict of Interest in Research Specialist 319-384-4256 martha-hedberg@uiowa.edu
Injury Prevention Research Center
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Corinne Peek-Asa Director 319-335-4895 corinne-peek-asa@uiowa.edu
John Lundell Deputy Director 319-335-4458 john-lundell@uiowa.edu
Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Nancy Marks Director/Veterinarian 319-335-7392 nancy-marks@uiowa.edu
Gwen Waddingham IACUC Coordinator 319-335-7985 gwendolyn-waddingham@uiowa.edu
Mike Andrews IACUC Training & Compliance Coordinator 319-335-9687 michael-andrews@uiowa.edu
Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories (IATL)
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Richard Hichwa Senior Associate Vice President for Research 319-335-2106 richard-hichwa@uiowa.edu
Iowa Consortium for Substance Abuse Research & Evaluation
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Stephan Arndt Director 319-335-4921 stephan-arndt@uiowa.edu
Julie Palmer Associate Director 319-335-4108 julie-palmer@uiowa.edu
Obermann Center for Advanced Studies
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Teresa Mangum Director, Obermann Center for Advanced Studies 319-335-4034 teresa-mangum@uiowa.edu
Erin Hackathorn Director of Operations 319-335-4034 erin-hackathorn@uiowa.edu
Office of Animal Resources
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
James Sheets Attending Veterinarian & Director 319-335-6592 jim-sheets@uiowa.edu
Sarah Tallman Business Manager 319-353-4354 sarah-tallman@uiowa.edu
Mary Marner Administrative Services Coordinator 319-335-7985 mary-marner@uiowa.edu
Office of State Archaeologist
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
John Doershuk State Archaeologist 319-384-0751 john-doershuk@uiowa.edu
Steve Lensink Associate Director 319-384-0738 steve-lensink@uiowa.edu
Linda Langenberg OSA Administrative Coordinator 319-384-0732 linda-langenberg@uiowa.edu
Pentacrest Museums
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Trina Roberts Interim Director 319-335-1313 trina-roberts@uiowa.edu
Public Policy Center
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Peter Damiano Director 319-335-6813 peter-damiano@uiowa.edu
Kristi Fitzpatrick Assistant Director 319-384-2852 kristi-fitzpatrick@uiowa.edu
Research Information Systems
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
J.J. Jimenez Director 319-335-0015 jose-jimenez@uiowa.edu
VPR Technical Support 319-384-4357 vpr-help@uiowa.edu
State Hygienic Laboratory
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Chris Atchison Director 319-335-4259 chris-atchison@uiowa.edu
Shari Heick Secretary IV 319-335-4455 shari-heick@uiowa.edu
Technology Innovation Center
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 319-384-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 319-335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu
UI Research Foundation
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Jane Garrity Associate Director of Licensing (319) 335-5795 jane-garrity@uiowa.edu
Paula DeGrandis Associate Director of Intellectual Property 319-335-4659 paula-degrandis@uiowa.edu
UI Research Park
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 319-384-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 319-335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu
UI Ventures
Name Title Phone Number Email Address
Paul Dymerski Director of New Ventures (614) 561-5286 paul-dymerski@uiowa.edu
Jordan Kaufmann Director of Startups (319) 384-3425 jordan-kaufmann@uiowa.edu