OVPR Research Units, Facilities, and Centers Directory

Within the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development there are numerous units, core facilities and centers that may be of assistance in the performance of research, scholarship and creative activity.  A directory of staff for these areas is provided in the table below.

Units

Core Facilities

Centers

OVPR Staff

Org Structure

      

Units, Core Facilities and Centers

Units

ANIMAL RESOURCES, OFFICE OF
Name Title Phone Email
Paul Cooper Director & Attending Veterinarian 335-7985 paul-cooper@uiowa.edu
Open Associate Director    
Sarah Tallman Business Manager 353-4354 sarah-tallman@uiowa.edu
Heather Schnoebelen Compliance Units HR Rep 335-8613

heather-schnoebelen@uiowa.edu

Mary Marner Administrative Services Coordinator 335-7985 mary-marner@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR BIOCATALYSIS AND BIOPROCESSING
Mani Subramanian Director 335-4902 mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Mitch Rotman Administrator 335-4903 mitchell-rotman@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR GLOBAL AND REGIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL RESEARCH
Gregory Carmichael Co-Director 335-3332 gregory-charmichael@uiowa.edu
Jerald Schnoor Co-Director 335-3332 jerald-schnoor@uiowa.edu
Jane Frank Administrative Services Coordinator 335-3333 jane-frank@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR HEALTH EFFECTS OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONTAMINATION
Gene Parkin Director 335-5655 gene-parkin@uiowa.edu
Peter Weyer Associate Director 335-4550 peter-weyer@uiowa.edu
CONFLICT OF INTEREST IN RESEARCH
Martha Hedberg Coordinator 384-4256 martha-hedberg@uiowa.edu
ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND SAFETY OFFICE
Carol McGhan Director 335-9553 carol-mcghan@uiowa.edu
Joe Graves Assistant Director 335-8517 joe-graves@uiowa.edu
Sarah Tallman Business Manager 384-1742 sarah-tallman@uiowa.edu
Merry Ibsen Secretary 335-8532 merry-ibsen@uiowa.edu
GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS, OFFICE OF
Peter Matthes Director of Federal Relations 210-3307 peter-matthes@uiowa.edu
Kathy Currant Scheduling Coordinator 334-2212 kathryn-currant@uiowa.edu
HUMAN SUBJECTS, OFFICE OF
John (Andy) Bertolatus Executive Director, Primary IRB Chair 384-4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Michele Countryman Biomedical Research Admin / Assistant Director 384-4452 michele-countryman@uiowa.edu
Patricia Gillette Social Science / Behavioral CBR Research Admin 384-4599 patricia-gillette@uiowa.edu
Anne Alberhasky Education & Compliance Program Manager 335-9559 anne-alberhasky@uiowa.edu
Laura Dallas Full Board (IRB-01/03) Program Manager 335-9844 laura-dallas@uiowa.edu
INJURY PREVENTION RESEARCH CENTER
Corinne Peek-Asa Director 335-4895 corinne-peek-asa@uiowa.edu
John Lundell Deputy Director 335-4458 john-lundell@uiowa.edu
INSTITUTIONAL ANIMAL CARE AND USE COMMITTEE (IACUC)
Nancy Figler Director/Veterinarian 335-7392 nancy-figler@uiowa.edu
Gwen Waddingham IACUC Application Analyst 335-7985 gwendolyn-waddingham@uiowa.edu
Mike Andrews IACUC Training & Compliance Coordinator 335-9687 michael-andrews@uiowa.edu
IOWA ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY LABORATORIES
Rich Hichwa Senior Associate Vice President for Research 335-2106 richard-hichwa@uiowa.edu
IOWA CENTERS FOR ENTERPRISE
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 384-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu
IOWA CONSORTIUM FOR SUBSTANCE ABUSE RESEARCH & EVALUATION
Stephan Arndt Director 335-4921 stephan-arndt@uiowa.edu
Molly Guard Associate Director 335-4108 molly-guard@uiowa.edu
OBERMANN CENTER FOR ADVANCED STUDIES
Teresa Mangum Director 335-4034 teresa-mangum@uiowa.edu
Neda Barrett Director of Operations 335-4034 neda-barrett@uiowa.edu
PENTACREST MUSEUMS
John Logsdon Interim Director 335-1082 john-logsdon@uiowa.edu
Shalla Wilson Ashworth Director of Operations 384-3601 shalla-wilson@uiowa.edu
PUBLIC POLICY CENTER
Peter Damiano Director 335-8613 peter-damiano@uiowa.edu
Kathy Holeton Administrative Associate 335-6804 kathy-holeton@uiowa.edu
Rudy Marcelino Administrative Coordinator 335-6800 rudy-marcelino@uiowa.edu
RESEARCH DEVELOPMENT SERVICES
Ann Ricketts Assistant Vice President for Research 335-2102 ann-ricketts@uiowa.edu
Cheryl Ridgeway Research Support Coordinator 384-3332 cheryl-a-ridgeway@uiowa.edu
Leslie Weatherhead Associate Director, Research Development & Communications 335-2131 leslie-weatherhead@uiowa.edu
RESEARCH INFORMATION SYSTEMS
J.J. Jimenez Director 335-0015 jose-jimenez@uiowa.edu
VPR/ITS Help Desk   335-0015 vpr-help@uiowa.edu
SPONSORED PROGRAMS, DIVISION OF
Jennifer Lassner Assistant Vice President for Research 335-3710 jennifer-lassner@uiowa.edu
Wendy Beaver Senior Associate Director 335-2122 wendy-beaver@uiowa.edu
STATE ARCHEOLOGIST, OFFICE OF
John Doershuk State Archeologist 384-0751 john-doershuk@uiowa.edu
Steve Lensink Associate Director 384-0738 steve-lensink@uiowa.edu
Linda Langenberg OSA Administrative Coordinator 384-0732 linda-langenberg@uiowa.edu
TECHNOLOGY INNOVATION CENTER
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 335-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu
UI RESEARCH FOUNDATION
Zev Sunleaf Executive Director 335-4155 zev-sunleaf@uiowa.edu
Deborah Dowd Executive Assistant 335-4975 deborah-dowd@uiowa.edu
UNIVERSITY OF IOWA RESEARCH PARK
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 335-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu

Core Facilities

ANIMAL RESOURCES, OFFICE OF
Paul Cooper Director & Attending Veterinarian 335-7985 paul-cooper@uiowa.edu
Open Associate Director    
Sarah Tallman Business Manager 353-4354 sarah-tallman@uiowa.edu
Heather Schnoebelen Compliance Units HR Rep 335-8613 heather-schnoebelen@uiowa.edu

Central Research Facilities

Santhana Velupillai Director, UI Central NMR Facility 335-1332 santhana-velupillai@uiowa.edu
Ben Rogers Director, Research Services in Information Technology Services 335-5548 ben-rogers@uiowa.edu
Randy Nessler Director, Central Microscopy 335-8142 randy-nessler@uiowa.edu
Mani Subramanian Director, Fermentation Facility 335-4902 mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Lynn Teesch Director, High Resolution Mass Spectrometry 335-4902 lynn-teesch@uiowa.edu
Meng Wu Director, High Throughput Screening Facility 335-8828 meng-wu@uiowa.edu

Centers

CENTER FOR BIOCATALYSIS AND BIOPROCESSING
Mani Subramanian Director 335-4902 mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Mitch Rotman Administrator 335-4903 mitchell-rotman@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR GLOBAL AND REGIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL RESEARCH
Gregory Carmichael Co-Director 335-3332 gregory-carmichael@uiowa.edu
Jerald Schnoor Co-Director 335-3332 jerald-schnoor@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR HEALTH EFFECTS OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONTAMINATION
Gene Parkin Director 335-5655 gene-parkin@uiowa.edu
Peter Weyer Associate Director 335-4550 peter-weyer@uiowa.edu
INJURY PREVENTION RESEARCH CENTER
Corinne Peek-Asa Director 335-4895 corinne-peek-asa@uiowa.edu
John Lundell Coordinator 335-4458 john-lundell@uiowa.edu
IOWA CONSORTIUM FOR SUBSTANCE ABUSE RESEARCH & EVALUATION
Stephan Arndt Director 335-4921 stephen-arndt@uiowa.edu
Molly Guard Associate Director 335-4108 molly-guard@uiowa.edu
NANOSCIENCE AND NANOTECHNOLOGY INSTITUTE AT UI
Vicki H. Grassian Director 335-1392 vicki-grassian@uiowa.edu
Sarah Larsen Co-Director 335-1346 sarah-larsen@uiowa.edu
Jackie Jensen Administrative Assistant 384-3292 jackie-jensen@uiowa.edu
OBERMANN CENTER FOR ADVANCED STUDIES
Teresa Mangum Director 335-4034 teresa-mangum@uiowa.edu
Neda Barrett Director of Operations 335-4034 neda-barrett@uiowa.edu
PUBLIC POLICY CENTER
Peter Damiano Director 335-8613 peter-damiano@uiowa.edu
Kathy Holeton Administrative Associate 335-6804 kathy-holeton@uiowa.edu
Rudy Marcelino Administrative Coordinator 335-6800 rudy-marcelino@uiowa.edu
STATE HYGIENIC LABORATORY
Chris Atchison Director 335-4259 chris-atchison@uiowa.edu
Shari Heick Secretary IV 335-4455 shari-heick@uiowa.edu

Contact Cheryl Ridgeway (384-3332) in the Office of the Vice President for Research with updates or additions.

 

Explore the UI Centers and Institutes page for a list of resources by college.

 

 

TO TOP