OVPR Research Units, Facilities, and Centers Directory

Within the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development there are numerous units, core facilities and centers that may be of assistance in the performance of research, scholarship and creative activity.  A directory of staff for these areas is provided in the table below.

Units

Core Facilities

OVPRED Staff

Org Structure

Units

ANIMAL RESOURCES, OFFICE OF
Name Title Phone Email
Paul Cooper Director & Attending Veterinarian 335-7985 paul-cooper@uiowa.edu
James Sheets Associate Director 335-7985 jim-sheets@uiowa.edu
Sarah Tallman Business Manager 353-4354 sarah-tallman@uiowa.edu
Heather Schnoebelen Compliance Units HR Rep 335-8613

heather-schnoebelen@uiowa.edu

Mary Marner Administrative Services Coordinator 335-7985 mary-marner@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR BIOCATALYSIS AND BIOPROCESSING
Mani Subramanian Director 335-4902 mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Mitch Rotman Administrator 335-4903 mitchell-rotman@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR GLOBAL AND REGIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL RESEARCH
Gregory Carmichael Co-Director 335-3332 gregory-charmichael@uiowa.edu
Jerald Schnoor Co-Director 335-5649 jerald-schnoor@uiowa.edu
Jane Frank Administrative Services Coordinator 335-3333 jane-frank@uiowa.edu
CENTER FOR HEALTH EFFECTS OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONTAMINATION
Gene Parkin Director 335-5655 gene-parkin@uiowa.edu
Peter Weyer Associate Director 335-4550 peter-weyer@uiowa.edu
CONFLICT OF INTEREST IN RESEARCH
Martha Hedberg Coordinator 384-4256 martha-hedberg@uiowa.edu
ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND SAFETY OFFICE
Carol McGhan Director 335-9553 carol-mcghan@uiowa.edu
Joe Graves Assistant Director / Radiation Safety Officer 335-8517 joe-graves@uiowa.edu
Haley Sinn Biological Safety Officer 335-9553 haley-williams@uiowa.edu
Sarah Tallman Business Manager 384-1742 sarah-tallman@uiowa.edu
Merry Ibsen Secretary 335-8532 merry-ibsen@uiowa.edu
HUMAN SUBJECTS, OFFICE OF
John (Andy) Bertolatus Executive Director, Primary IRB Chair 384-4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Michele Countryman Biomedical Research Admin / Assistant Director 384-4452 michele-countryman@uiowa.edu
Patricia Gillette Social Science / Behavioral CBR Research Admin 384-4599 patricia-gillette@uiowa.edu
Anne Alberhasky Education & Compliance Program Manager 335-9559 anne-alberhasky@uiowa.edu
Laura Dallas Full Board (IRB-01/03) Program Manager 335-9844 laura-dallas@uiowa.edu
INJURY PREVENTION RESEARCH CENTER
Corinne Peek-Asa Director 335-4895 corinne-peek-asa@uiowa.edu
John Lundell Deputy Director 335-4458 john-lundell@uiowa.edu
INSTITUTIONAL ANIMAL CARE AND USE COMMITTEE (IACUC)
Nancy Figler Director/Veterinarian 335-7392 nancy-figler@uiowa.edu
Gwen Waddingham IACUC Coordinator 335-7985 gwendolyn-waddingham@uiowa.edu
Mike Andrews IACUC Training & Compliance Coordinator 335-9687 michael-andrews@uiowa.edu
IOWA ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY LABORATORIES
Rich Hichwa Senior Associate Vice President for Research 335-2106 richard-hichwa@uiowa.edu
IOWA CENTERS FOR ENTERPRISE
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 384-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Lee Groeschl Associate Director of Economic Development 335-4549 lee-groeschl@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu
IOWA CONSORTIUM FOR SUBSTANCE ABUSE RESEARCH & EVALUATION
Stephan Arndt Director 335-4921 stephan-arndt@uiowa.edu
Julie Palmer Associate Director 335-4108 julie-palmer@uiowa.edu
OBERMANN CENTER FOR ADVANCED STUDIES
Teresa Mangum Director 335-4034 teresa-mangum@uiowa.edu
Erin Hackathorn Director of Operations 335-4034 erin-hackathorn@uiowa.edu
PENTACREST MUSEUMS
Trina Roberts Associate Director, Museum of Natural History 335-1313 trina-roberts@uiowa.edu
Shalla Wilson Ashworth Director of Operations 384-3601 shalla-wilson@uiowa.edu
PUBLIC POLICY CENTER
Peter Damiano Director 335-8613 peter-damiano@uiowa.edu
Kathy Holeton Administrative Services Manager 335-6804 kathy-holeton@uiowa.edu
RESEARCH INFORMATION SYSTEMS
J.J. Jimenez Director 335-0015 jose-jimenez@uiowa.edu
VPR / ITS Help Desk   335-0015 vpr-help@uiowa.edu
SPONSORED PROGRAMS, DIVISION OF
Jennifer Lassner Assistant Vice President for Research 335-3710 jennifer-lassner@uiowa.edu
Wendy Beaver Senior Associate Director 335-2122 wendy-beaver@uiowa.edu
STATE ARCHEOLOGIST, OFFICE OF
John Doershuk State Archeologist 384-0751 john-doershuk@uiowa.edu
Steve Lensink Associate Director 384-0738 steve-lensink@uiowa.edu
Linda Langenberg OSA Administrative Coordinator 384-0732 linda-langenberg@uiowa.edu
STATE HYGIENIC LABORATORY
Chris Atchison Director 335-4259 chris-atchison@uiowa.edu
Shari Heick Secretary IV 335-4455 shari-heick@uiowa.edu
TECHNOLOGY INNOVATION CENTER
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 335-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu
UI RESEARCH FOUNDATION
Zev Sunleaf Executive Director 335-4155 zev-sunleaf@uiowa.edu
Deborah Dowd Executive Assistant 335-4975 deborah-dowd@uiowa.edu
UI PARTNERS
David Conrad Deputy Director of Economic Development 335-4142 david-conrad@uiowa.edu
UNIVERSITY OF IOWA RESEARCH PARK
Stephanie Dengler Director of Operations, UI Research Park 335-2741 stephanie-dengler@uiowa.edu
Diann Pavelka Secretary 335-4063 diann-pavelka@uiowa.edu

Core Facilities

Ben Rogers Director, Research Services in Information Technology Services 335-5548 ben-rogers@uiowa.edu
Randy Nessler Director, Central Microscopy 335-8142 randy-nessler@uiowa.edu
Mani Subramanian Director, Fermentation Facility 335-4902 mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Lynn Teesch Director, High Resolution Mass Spectrometry 335-4902 lynn-teesch@uiowa.edu
Meng Wu Director, High Throughput Screening Facility 335-8828 meng-wu@uiowa.edu

 

Contact Cheryl Ridgeway (384-3332) in the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development with updates or additions.

Explore the UI Centers and Institutes page for a list of resources by college.

 

TO TOP