UI Centers and Institutes

This page is under construction.

Please visit https://research.uiowa.edu/ovpr/directory-centers-and-institutes for an updated list of centers and institutes.


 ICTS| Business DentistryEducationEngineeringLawLiberal Arts & Sciences MedicineNursingPublic Health │ VP for Research

COLLEGE ​OF BUSINESS

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Business Solutions Center Rich Boulger Richard-boulger@uiowa.edu
Judith Frank Business Communications Center Pamela G. Bourjaily Pamela-bourjaily@uiowa.edu
Institute for Economic Research Charles Whiteman Whiteman@uiowa.edu
Hawkinson Institute of Business Finance Brian Richman Brian-richman@uiowa.edu
Institute for International Business Terry Boles Terry-boles@uiowa.edu
RSM McGladrey Institute of Accounting Education & Research Ramji Balakrishnan Ramji-balakrishnan@uiowa.edu
John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center (JPEC) David K. Hensley David-hensley@uiowa.edu
Small Business Development Center Paul Heath Paul-heath@uiowa.edu
Vaughan Institute of Risk Management and Insurance Larry Hershberger Larry-hershberger@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF DENTISTRY  

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Center for Implant Dentistry Clark Stanford Clark-stanford@uiowa.edu
Dental Clinical Research Center Clark Stanford Clark-stanford@uiowa.edu
Dows Institute for Dental Research James Wefel James-wefel@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF​ EDUCATION  

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Belin-Blank Center Nicholas Colangelo Nick-colangelo@uiowa.edu
Belin-Blank Center Institute for Research & Policy on Acceleration Dave Lohman David-lohman@uiowa.edu
Center for Advanced Studies in Measurement and Assessment Robert L. Brennan Robert-brennan@uiowa.edu
Center for Evaluation and Assessment Donald B. Yarbrough D-yarbrough@uiowa.edu
Center for Research on Undergraduate Education (CRUE) Ernest T. Pascarella Elizabeth J. Whitt Ernest-pascarella@uiowa.edu
Elizabeth-whitt@uiowa.edu
Grant and Research Services Center (GRSC) Elizabeth Constantine Elizabeth-constantine@uiowa.edu
Iowa Center for Assistive Technology Education and Research Dennis Maki Dennis-maki@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING  

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Center for Computer Aided Design (CCAD) Karim Abdel-Malek Karim-abdel-malek@uiowa.edu
Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing Mani Subramanian Mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Iowa Institute for Biomedical Imaging Geoffrey McLennan Geoffrey-mclennan@uiowa.edu
Center for Environmentally Beneficial Catalysis Mani Subramanian Mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Center for Health Effects of Environmental Contamination Gene Parkin Gene-parkin@uiowa.edu
Photopolymerization Center Alec Scranton Alec-scranton@uiowa.edu
Iowa Flood Center Witold Krajewski witold-krajewski@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF LAW;   

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

The Innovation, Business and Law Center Herbert Hovenkamp Herbert-hovenkamp@uiowa.edu
The Institute of Public Affairs Jeff Schott Jeff-schott@uiowa.edu
Larned A. Waterman Iowa Nonprofit Resource Center Richard Koontz Richard-koontz@uiowa.edu
Law, Health Policy & Disability Center Helen Schartz Helen-schartz@uiowa.edu
National Health Law and Policy Resource Center Josephine Gittler Josephine-gittler@uiowa.edu
UI Center for Human Rights Gergory Hamot Gregory-hamot@uiowa.edu
UI Center for International Finance and Development Enrique Carrasco Enrique-carrasco@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS & SCIENCES   

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Carver Center for Genomics Harsha Doddapaneni Harsha-doddapaneni@uiowa.edu
Center for Asian and Pacific Studies Sonia Ryang Sonia-ryang@uiowa.edu
Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing Mani Subramanian Mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Center for Criminology and Socio-legal Studies Celesta Albonetti Celesta-albonetti@uiow.edu
Center for Ethnic Studies and the Arts Lauren Rabinovitz Lauren-rabinovitz@uiowa.edu
Center for New Music David Gompper David-gompper@uiowa.edu
Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Russell Valentino Russell-valentino@uiowa.edu
Center for the Study of Group Processes Michael Lovaglia Michael-lovaglia@uiowa.edu
Child Language Research Center Bruce Tomblin j-tomblin@uiowa.edu
Delta Center John Spencer John-spencer@uiowa.edu
Disproportionate Minority Confinement Research Center Miriam Landsman Mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Institute for Cinema and Culture Corey Creekmur Corey-creekmur@uiowa.edu
Institute for Inequality Studies Naresh Kumar
Kevin Leicht
Narish-kumar@uiowa.edu
Kevin-leicht@uiowa.edu
Iowa Depression and Clinical Research Center Michael O’Hara
Scott Stuart
Mike-ohara@uiowa.edu
Scott-stuart@uiowa.edu
Latino Institute Miriam Landsman Mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
National Center for Voice and Speech Ingo Titze Ingo-titze@uiowa.edu
National Resource Center on Family Centered Practice Miriam Landsman Mani-subramanian@uiowa.edu
Optical Science Technology Center (OSTC) Mark Arnold Mark-arnold@uiowa.edu
Iowa Social Science Research Center Kevin Leicht Kevin-leicht@uiowa.edu
UI Center for Human Rights Gregory Hamot Gregory-hamot@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF MEDICINE    

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Center for Auditory Regeneration and Deafness Bruce Gantz
Richard Smith
Bruce-gantz@uiowa.edu
Richard-smith@uiowa.edu
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Research Thomas L. Casavant Tom-casavant@uiowa.edu
Iowa Institute for Biomedical Imaging Geoffrey McLennan Geoffrey-mclennan@uiowa.edu
Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center George Weiner George-weiner@uiowa.edu
Iowa Cardiovascular Center Francois Abboud Francois-abboud@uiowa.edu
Cleft Palate and Craniofacial Center Bruce Gantz Bruce-gantz@uiowa.edu
Center for Immunology and Immune Based Diseases Gail Bishop gail-bishop@uiowa.edu
Center for Gene Therapy of Cystic Fibrosis and Other Genetic Diseases John F. Engelhardt John-engelhardt@uiowa.edu
Center for Functional Genomics of Hypertension Curt Sigmund Curt-sigmund@uiowa.edu
Huntington’s Disease Center Jane Paulsen
Robert Rodnitzky
jane-paulsen@uiowa.edu
Robert-rodnitzky@uiowa.edu
George M. O’Brien Kidney Research Center John Stokes John-stokes@uiowa.edu
Comprehensive Lung Imaging Center Eric Hoffman eric-hoffman@uiowa.edu
The Carver Family Center for Macular Degeneration Mitch Beckman Mitch-beckman@uiowa.edu
Specialized Center of Research in Osteoarthritis Lois Lembke lois-lembke@uiowa.edu
Wellstone Muscular Dystrophy Cooperative Research Centers Kevin Campbell Kevin-campbell@uiowa.edu
UI Organ Transplant Center Alan Reed Alan-reed@uiowa.edu
Helen C. Levitt Center for Viral Pathogenesis Jack Stapleton Jack-stapleton@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF NURSING   

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Center for Computational Nursing Martha Craft-Rosenberg (interim director) Martha-craft-rosenberg@uiowa.edu
Center for Genetics Janet Williams Janet-williams@uiowa.edu
Center for Nursing Classification and Clinical Effectiveness (NIC/NOC) Sue Moorhead Sue-moorhead@uiowa.edu
Center for Nursing Informatics Jane Brokel
Der-Fa Lu
Jane-brokel@uiowa.edu
Der-fa-lu@uiowa.edu
Gerontological Nursing Interventions Research Center Toni Tripp- Reimer Toni-reimer@uiowa.edu
Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence Kathleen C. Buckwalter Kathleen-buckwalter@uiowa.edu
Institute for Nursing Knowledge Martha Craft-Rosenberg (interim director) Martha-craft-rosenberg@uiowa.edu
Center for Improving Medication Use in the Community William Doucette William-doucette@uiowa.edu

COLLEGE OF PUBLIC HEALTH   

Center/Institute

Director

Contact Information

Biostatistics Consulting Center Bridget Zimmerman Bridget-zimmerman@uiowa.edu
Center for Education and Research on Therapeutics (CERT) Elizabeth Chrischilles E-chrischilles@uiowa.edu
Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases Tara Smith (Deputy Director) Tara-smith@uiowa.edu
Center for Health Communication and Social Marketing Shelly Campo Shelly-campo@uiowa.edu
Center for Health Policy and Research Marcia Ward Marcia-m-ward@uiowa.edu
Center for International Rural and Environmental Health Tom Cook Thomas-cook@uiowa.edu
Center on Aging Robert Wallace Robert-wallace@uiowa.edu
Clinical Trials Statistical & Data Management Center William R. Clarke William-clarke@uiowa.edu
Environmental Health Sciences Research Center Peter S. Thorne Peter-thorne@uiowa.edu
Great Plains Center for Agricultural Health Fred Gerr Fred-gerr@uiowa.edu
Health Effectiveness Research Center> Elizabeth A. Chrischilles E-chrischilles@uiowa.edu
Healthier Workforce Center for Excellence James Merchant James-merchant@uiowa.edu
Heartland Center for Occupational Health and Safety Kelley Donham Kelley-donham@uiowa.edu
Injury Prevention Research Center (IPRC) Corinne Peek-Asa Corinne-peek-asa@uiowa.edu
Institute for Public Health Practice Christopher Atchison Chris-atchison@uiowa.edu
Institute for Quality Healthcare Tanya Uden-Holman Tanya-uden-holman@uiowa.edu
Nutrition Center Linda Snetselaar Linda-snetselaar@uiowa.edu
Prairielands Addiction Technology Transfer Center Anne Helene Skinstad Anne-skinstad@uiowa.edu
Preventive Intervention Center (PIC) Linda Snetselaar Linda-snetselaar@uiowa.edu
Prevention Research Center for Rural Health (PRC) Faryle Nothwehr faryle-nothwehr@uiowa.edu
Iowa Cancer Registry Chuck Lynch Charles-lynch@uiowa.edu
Upper Midwest Center for Public Health Preparedness Christopher Atchison Chris-atchison@uiowa.edu
Upper Midwest Public Health Training Center Tanya Uden-Holman Tanya-uden-holman@uiowa.edu
BioVentures Center TBA  
Iowa Centers for Enterprise TBD  
Obermann Center for Advanced Studies Teresa Mangum Teresa-mangum@uiowa.edu
Public Policy Center Peter C. Damiano Peter-damiano@uiowa.edu
The Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Institute at UI Vicki Grassian
Sarah Larsen
Vicki-grassian@uiowa.edu
sarah-larsen@uiowa.edu

University-wide index of Centers and Institutes

 

Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (ICTS)

The Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (ICTS) is home to the National Institutes of Health funded Clinical and Translational Science Award at the University of Iowa and is one of only 55 facilities of its kind in the nation.  The ICTS helps establish unique collaborations between clinicians, investigators, and community members alike because they believe everyone plays an important role in advancing the health of our nation and the world.

The Clinical Research Unit (CRU) of the University of Iowa ICTS, directed by Joel Kline, MD, provides the infrastructure and personnel necessary to perform both inpatient and outpatient clinical and translational research.  Please explore the links associated with the Clinical Research Unit for detailed information concerning the wide range of research-related services.