To Support, Celebrate, and Connect

In Fall 2013, the Office of the Vice President for Research joined with the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences to establish a Humanities Advisory Board, which will serve as a direct line of communication between faculty in humanities disciplines and UI administration. 


The Humanities Advisory Board meets two-three times per semester and is charged with advising the Vice President for Research and the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences on humanities issues including: leveraging existing and future resources in support of scholarship in the humanities; raising the visibility of UI humanities programs in Iowa and beyond; and exploring new forms of scholarship and possible areas of interdisciplinary research among the arts, humanities and sciences.


The board is co-chaired by Brenda Longfellow, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Art & Art History, and Diane Jeske, Professor, Philosophy. 

Chosen as emerging thought leaders in the humanities on campus, the board’s members, who will serve two- to three-year terms, are

  • Marc Armstrong, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (Ex-officio)
  • Amy Chen, English & American Literature Librarian (Term expires 06/2019)
  • Elizabeth Heineman, Professor, History (Term expires 06/2021)
  • Diane Jeske (Co-Chair), Professor, Philosophy (Term expires 06/2020)
  • Tom Keegan, Director, Digital Research & Publishing (Term expires 06/2019)
  • Rob Ketterer, Professor, Classics (Term expires 06/2019)
  • Brenda Longfellow (Co-Chair), Associate Professor, Art History (Term expires 06/2019)
  • Teresa Mangum, Director of the Obermann Center for Advanced Studies, Professor of Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies (Ex-officio)
  • Raymond Mentzer, Professor, Religious Studies (Term expires 06/2021)
  • Christopher Merrill, Professor of English and Director of the International Writing Program (Term expires 06/2019)
  • Kathleen Newman, Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese (Term expires 06/2021)
  • Ann Ricketts, Assistant Vice President for Research (Ex-officio)
  • Nick Yablon, Associate Professor, American Studies (Term expires 06/2020)

Meeting dates
Glenn Penny

  • Thursday, February 14, 2019
  • Thursday, March 14, 2019
  • Thursday, April 11, 2019