Seventeen UI graduate students from across campus, representing four different colleges, have been selected for the seventh annual Obermann Graduate Institute on Engagement and the Academy. This year's co-directors, Craig Just (Civil & Environmental Engineering) and Jennifer Kayle (Dance), and Senior Graduate Fellows Anna Swanson (Cinematic Arts and Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies) and Jessica Pleyel (Art & Art History) will lead the week-long program from January 11-15, 2016.

The Institute offers a competitively selected group of UI graduate students an opportunity to explore how civic engagement can enhance teaching, research, and creative work. It is also a rare opportunity for students to share ideas and experiences with peers they would not otherwise meet.

The 2016 Graduate Institute Fellows:

  • David De La Torre, History
  • Diane Williams, American Studies and Gender, Women's, and Sexuality Studies
  • Heidi Renee Aijala, English
  • Rebekah Chappell, Dance
  • Arianna Rigon, Neuroscience
  • Gwendolyn Gillson, Religious Studies
  • Jeremy Williams, Education
  • Kelly Grogg, School of Library & Information Sciences
  • Mohanad Nada, Immunology
  • Ella Von Holtum, School of Library & Information Sciences
  • Emily Climer, Dance
  • Heather Wacha, History
  • Bailey Kelly, Communication Studies
  • Ruth Bryant, Center for the Book
  • Keva Fawkes, School of Art & Art History
  • Mary Nyaema, Education
  • Rachel Winter, Religious Studies