Monday, December 3, 2018

The Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) is now accepting nominations for outstanding University of Iowa faculty, staff, and students in the areas of research, scholarship, innovation, and mentorship.

Discovery and Innovation Awards

“These awards recognize the incredible and transformative work happening across our campus, from History to Neuroscience,” said John Keller, Interim Vice President for Research. “Every year we look forward to recognizing the winners at the Discovery and Innovation Awards Dinner at Hancher.”

Nominations for the 2018 awards are due on February 5. Details about the nomination process are available on the OVPR website.

The 2018 award categories include:

Faculty awards:

  • Scholar of the Year
  • Early Career Scholar of the Year
  • Leadership in Research
  • Distinguished Achievement in Publicly Engaged Research
  • Distinguished Achievement in Arts and Humanities Research
  • Faculty Communicating Ideas Award
  • ICRU Distinguished Mentor Award

Research staff awards:

  • Distinguished Research Administrator Award
  • Distinguished Research Professional Award

Student awards:

  • Student Innovator (Graduate and undergraduate students)
  • Excellence in Undergraduate Research Awards
  • Graduate Research Excellence Awards

Postdoctoral award:

  • Postdoctoral Research Scholar/Fellow Excellence Award

Startup of the Year awards: 

  • Faculty/Staff Startup of the Year
  • Student Startup of the Year

The Discovery and Innovation Awards are sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Research, Office of Finance and Operations, Graduate College, John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center, and the Iowa Center for Research by Undergraduates. 


The University of Iowa Office of the Vice President for Research provides researchers and scholars with resources, guidance, and inspiration to secure funding, collaborate, innovate, and forge frontiers of discovery that benefit everyone. More at, and on Twitter: @DaretoDiscover